Originally built as a burial ground for the Cantonese and Hakka immigrants from China, Peck San Theng cemetery later opened up to the wider Chinese community to meet burial demands in the country.
An exclusive ExplorerSG mini series where we reveal some of the lesser-known places, facts and history of Singapore.
Follow ExplorerSG on Facebook and stay updated on #exploringsingapore weekly series!
Discovered in 1909 by Chinese merchant Seah Eng Keong, the spring was frequented by villagers who sought the waters for its supposed healing powers. The neighboring village became known as Kampong Ayer Panas, or Village of Hot Water.
The 5-foot way (also known as wu jiao ji in Mandarin and kaki lima in Malay), referring to the covered walkways in many parts of Asia, is an unique architectural feature established by Sir Stamford Raffles.
On 31 January 1974, four armed terrorists (two from the Japanese Red Army and two from the Popular Front of the Liberation of Palestine) landed on Pulau Bukom – a small island south of mainland Singapore – in an attempt to bomb the Shell Oil Refinery and disrupt the regional oil supply chain.
Believed to be over a million years old, the 163-hectare Bukit Timah Nature Reserve is the oldest and biggest forest reserve in Singapore.
The Old Upper Thomson Road is the venue of Singapore’s first grand prix and played host to several exciting motorsports from 1961 to 1973 before its end citing safety concerns.